What better way to enjoy a leisurely weekened breakfast than with buttermilk pancakes? You can whip up the batter in a matter of minutes and cooking takes no time at all if you use a griddle.

I am always searching to perfect each different type of food that I like. I will try many different types of recipes, variations, ingredients until I reach success. Even though I like most of the recipes that I try, I still like to try different recipes, hoping to find something even better or just have another way of making something. However, when I find a recipe that I LOVE, and am completely satisfied with, I am no longer even tempted to try another version, simply because I know, that this is “the one”. What I’m trying to say is that this is my ultimate buttermilk pancake recipe. It is so fluffy and tender, it just melts in your mouth. Often I will make double the amount on Saturday morning and keep the rest of the pancakes for the coming week. An easy way to heat them up and revive them is to toast them and they come right back to life with their golden, airy goodness.

Yields: 12-14 pancakes

Ingredients:

1 ¼ cup buttermilk

1 egg

¼ cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

¼ cup oil (vegetable, canola)

1 ¼ cup flour

1 heaping tsp baking powder

1 level tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

Whisk the wet ingredients together. (I like to whisk them all in a liquid measuring cup.) Whisk the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Make a well in the center and pour in the wet ingredients.

Whisk together just until combined. Do not overmix. It’s ok if there are a few lumps lefts.

Using a ¼ cup measuring cup, pour onto heated, oiled griddle. Flip the pancakes when there is an even distribution of small holes on the surface of the pancake and edges are dry.

 

A nice way of keeping pancakes fluffy, is placing them on a clean kitchen towel in a single layer and covering with another kitchen towel to keep warm. This way, you won’t smoosh the pancakes too much with the weight of the other pancakes.

Bleuberry Pancakes:

Sprinkle in some blueberries on top of the pancakes, right after you pour them onto the griddle.

You can also use any other berries or other fruit. Or add chocolate chips, nuts, M&M’s, etc right to the batter.