I read cookbooks like novels. I have quite a collection of them, but the excitement of a new selection of mouthwatering, recipes always makes me giddy with the thrill of rolling up my sleeves to try something different. That is why I love the library. Recently I found a great breakfast recipe in a Taste of Home cookbook and tried it out on Sunday morning before church. It is so simple to put together, and while it bakes I can take a shower and get ready. These cheesy egg puffs with sausage, onions and cheese are so “breakfasty” and scrumptious. The texture is absolutely divine, kind of like a combination of a souffle and a mousse. These are perfect little individual omelets.

Serve these for brunch or for overnight guests, who will be so impressed. And full. There are endless possibilites for fillings for these  egg puffs. Basically, you can use any flavors that you like in your omelets – bacon, mushrooms, peppers, tomatoes, ham, asparagus, zucchini, etc.

They are also great as leftovers. I didn’t realize I would have 23 little omelets for just the two of us :), but we heated them up that week for a quick breakfast.

Adapted from a Taste of Home recipe.

Yields: 23 egg puffs (I know it’s a wierd number, but that’s how much I got)

Ingredients:

6-8 oz fresh sausage (Polish, Italian, breakfast – whichever one you like)

1 onion, minced

1/2 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

10 eggs, lightly beaten

2 cups cottage or ricotta cheese

1 1/2 cups grated cheese, (mozzarella, provolone, monterey jack, etc.)

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, melted

1-2 tablespoons fresh parsley and chives, minced

Preheat the oven to 350 degreese. Grease 2 muffins tray.

On medium high heat, partially cook the sausage. Add the onion and continue cooking until the onion is tender and the sausage is fully cooked. Drain on a paper towel. Meanwhile, whisk together the dry ingredients – the flour, baking powder and salt. In a large bowl, mix the eggs, ricotta/cottage cheese, cheese and butter. Mix in the sausage, onions and herbs. Add the dry ingredients, mix to combine. Fill the muffin cups 3/4 full. I use an ice cream scoop – it’s the perfect amount, each egg puff is the same size, so they bake evenly. Bake for about 30-35 minutes.